Sunday, January 13, 2019

Died Pretty : Lost 1988

With a higher international profile thanks to a licensing deal via the well-established U.K. label Beggars Banquet, Died Pretty re-entered the studio with producer Rob Younger to create another solid album of unpretentious, sharp delights.

The band sound slightly more upfront throughout, if only just -- it's not a radical change, and certainly the group weren't shrinking violets before, but there's just a touch more oomph in the recording and delivery, and it's most becoming.

Even numbers like "As Must Have," which consists of just Brett Myers' acoustic guitar and backing singing from Ron S. Peno, are up in the mix, Peno's own version of high and lonesome singing providing the only sense of evocative distance. Chris Welsh's drums drive the songs without overwhelming them, while the rest of the band kick major booty as they go.

Myers gets moments to sing lead, as on the quick and groovy "Out of My Hands," but otherwise he concentrates on his evermore impressive playing, and by now traditional great solos, while Peno takes the lion's share of the leads.

Frank Brunetti's organ playing is similarly key to things once more, providing perfect hooks and shading throughout. Energetic rave-ups remain the band's best point, as great numbers like "Winterland" and "Crawls-Away" demonstrate, everyone performing to their best in a thick rush of sound. But subtler approaches have their place, as with the quietly dramatic chime and pace of "One Day" or "Springenfall," a great romantic number.

In a sly continuation of a semi-tradition started on Free Dirt, where the song "Next to Nothing" turned up after not appearing on the EP of that title, the concluding track of Lost is, in fact, "Free Dirt." Sung by Myers with guests on backing vocals and piano, it's a gentle number and a fine way to wrap up the album.

Review by Ned Raggett



A1. Lost    
A2. Out Of My Hands    
A3. As Must Have    
A4. Springenfall    
A5. Winterland    


B1. Caesar's Cold   
B2. Crawls Away    
B3. One Day    
B4. Towers Of Strength    
B5. Free Dirt

Label : Hitch-Hyke Records  91119 LIFT 012
Format : Vinyl, LP, Album
Country : Greece
Released : 1988
Genre : Rock
Style : Alternative Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Indie Rock

    Bass – Mark Lock
    Drums, Percussion – Chris Welsh
    Engineer – Alan Thorne
    Engineer, Mixed By – John Harvey (3) (tracks: B1)
    Guitar, Backing Vocals – Brett Myers
    Lead Vocals – Brett Myers (tracks: A2, B5), Ronald S. Peno
    Organ, Piano – Frank Brunetti
    Producer – Rob Younger

Take it HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment