Monday, January 21, 2019

Virgin Prunes : The Moon Looked Down And Laughed 1986

The band consisted of childhood friends of U2's Bono. Lypton Village was a "youthful gang" created by Bono (ne Paul Hewson), Friday (ne Fionan Hanvey) and Guggi (ne Derek Rowen) in the early 1970s. 

Known for their outrageous and controversial stage performances, led by theatrical singer/songwriter Friday, the band began playing small shows in Dublin, gaining them a cult audience.

Friday and fellow vocalist Guggi, along with third vocalist Dave-iD Busaras, guitarist Dik Evans (brother of U2's The Edge), bassist Strongman (Trevor Rowen, brother of Guggi) and drummer Pod (Anthony Murphy), completed the original lineup.

Pod left the group and was replaced by Haa-Lacka Binttii (ne Daniel Figgis). With Binttii on drums, tape loops and keyboards, the band secured a deal with Rough Trade Records.

They released their first single, "Twenty Tens" on their own Baby Records label (distributed by Rough Trade) on 8 January 1981, followed by a second single, "Moments and Mine (Despite Straight Lines)", on 27 June 1981.

The Moon Looked Down and Laughed is the second studio album. It was released in January 1986 by Baby Records in Europe, and on Touch and Go Records in the U.S..

The sound of 1986's The Moon Looked Down and Laughed is the sound of a band being pulled apart by the differing ideas of its members.

Released : 1986
Genre : Rock
Style : New Wave, Gothic


01. Heaven    
02. Love Lasts Forever    
03. I Am God    
04. Sons Find Devils    
05. Alone    
06. The Moon Looked Down And Laughed    
07. Uncle Arthur's Lonely World
08. Don't Look Back    
09. Betrayal    
10. Deadly Sins    
11. Day Of Ages    
12. True Life Story    
13. The White History Book    

Mary D'Nellon : guitar
Gavin Friday : vocals
Pod : drums
Strongman : bass guitar
Dave-iD Busaras : vocals

1 comment: