Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Pavlov's Dog : Pampered Menial 1975

Pavlov's Dog originally was composed of vocalist David Surkamp, guitarist Steve Levin, keyboardists David Hamilton and Doug Rayburn, bassist Rick Stockton, drummer Mike Safron, and violinist Siegfried Carver (born Richard Nadler).
The artsy hard rock group Pavlov's Dog spanned progressive music and heavy metal in much the same way that Rush did in its early days.

Pavlov's Dog formed in St. Louis in 1972 out of the ashes of a local cover band called High on a Small Hill, with Surkamp, formerly of the minor folk-rock act Touch, on vocals and guitar, joined by lead guitarist Steve Scorfina; keyboardist David Hamilton; Mellotron and flute player Doug Rayburn; bassist Rick Stockton; drummer Mike Safron; and strings specialist Siegfried Carver (born Richard Nadler), who added violin, viola, and an odd hybrid instrument called a vitar (that sounded something like Eddie Phillips' bowed guitar in the '60s freakbeat heroes the Creation).

The combination of flute, Mellotron, violin, and Scorfina's guitar heroics led to some comparisons to David Cross-era King Crimson, though Pavlov's Dog had a much more straight-ahead, less twisty sound. Pampered Menial was the first album from Pavlov's Dog, a band produced by Murray Krugman and Sandy Pearlman, the duo behind Blue Oyster Cult. The seven men in this group are revealed in the gatefold holding "Horace," a dog, while three engravings from 1849 by artist Robert Vernon make up the front, back and inside cover. 

Levin left the band during their inaugural year and was replaced by Steve Scorfina (formerly of REO Speedwagon). Carver departed the band following the release of the band's debut album Pampered Menial. For their second album At the Sound of the Bell (1976), Tom Nickeson was added to the line-up on guitar; switching to keyboards not long thereafter following the departure of Hamilton.

Former Yes and King Crimson drummer Bill Bruford performed the drums on this album due to the absence of Safron; and when Safron did not receive a promised credit on the album sleeve he departed the band permanently and was replaced by Kirk Sarkistan. This line-up of the band remained until their dissolution in 1977.


01. "Julia" (David Surkamp) – 3:10
02. "Late November" (Surkamp, Steve Scorfina) – 3:13
03. "Song Dance" (Mike Safron) – 4:59
04. "Fast Gun" (Surkamp) – 3:04
05. "Natchez Trace" (Scorfina) – 3:42
06. "Theme from Subway Sue" (Surkamp) – 4:25
07. "Episode" (Surkamp) – 4:04
08. "Preludin" (Siegfried Carver) – 1:36
09. "Of Once and Future Kings" (Surkamp) – 5:32

 MP3 : Size : 98.2 MB
FLAC : Size : 222 MB

No comments:

Post a Comment