Monday, December 02, 2019

The Standells: Dirty Water 1966 - The Standells: Why Pick on Me Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White 1966

The Standells are an American garage rock band from Los Angeles, California, formed in the 1960s, who have been referred to as the "punk band of the 1960s", and said to have inspired such groups as the Sex Pistols and Ramones. They are best known for their 1966 cover of Ed Cobb’s hit "Dirty Water".

[ The Standells made number 11 in 1966 with "Dirty Water," an archetypal garage rock hit with its Stones-ish riff, lecherous vocal, and combination of raunchy guitar and organ. While they never again reached the Top 40, they cut a number of strong, similar tunes in the 1966-1967 era that have belatedly been recognized as '60s punk classics. "Garage rock" may not have been a really accurate term for them in the first place, as the production on their best material was full and polished, with some imaginative touches of period psychedelia and pop.

Considerably toughening their image, the group churned out four albums in 1966 and 1967, as well as appearing in (and contributing the theme song to) the psychedelic exploitation movie Riot on Sunset Strip. Cobb, in addition to writing "Dirty Water," also penned their other most enduring singles, including "Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White," "Why Pick on Me," and "Try It" (the last of which was widely banned for its suggestive delivery).

The Standells never had a stable lineup; bass players were constantly leaving (John Fleck, aka John Fleckenstein, who was briefly in an early version of Love, held the spot for a while), and Dick Dodd went solo in 1968, the year they released their last single.
Richie Unterberger ]

In 1965 the group – Dodd, Tamblyn, Valentino and Lane – signed with Capitol Records' label Tower, teaming up with producer Ed Cobb. Cobb wrote the group's most popular song, "Dirty Water", which the band recorded in late 1965. The song's references to the city of Boston are owed to Cobb's experiences with a mugger in Boston. The song also makes reference to the Boston Strangler and the dorm curfews for college women in those days.
In early 1966, after recording "Dirty Water", Dodd briefly left the Standells, and was replaced by Dewey Martin, who became a member of Buffalo Springfield.

Along with Why Pick on Me, this was the group's strongest album, although you're always better off with a greatest hits collection. "There Is a Storm Comin'" and "Pride and Devotion" are a couple of strong numbers that don't make it onto compilations, and "Rari, " the moody B-side of "Dirty Water, " tis one of their best little-known tracks. The CD reissue takes off one cut (the easily found "Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White") and adds six bonus tracks of only mild interest, including a version of "Batman." Add points for finding a longer version of "Rari, " though.

Dirty Water is listed in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as one of the 500 songs that shaped Rock & Roll.. A biography titled "Love that Dirty Water – The Standells and the Improbable Red Sox Victory Anthem" is currently available on, Barnes & Noble, Target, and in other retail outlets.

Today, the Standells consist of original members Larry Tamblyn (lead singer & keyboard), Dick Dodd (lead singer, percussion & guitar), John Fleckenstein (bass), plus Mark Adrian (co-lead singer & guitar) and veteran drummer Greg Burnham. They are currently working on their new record album, the first in over 45 years.


The Standells in Person at P.J.s. (1964) (re-edited as Live and Out of Sight with two bonus songs) (1966, 1990)
Dirty Water (1966)
Why Pick on Me Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White (1966)
The Hot Ones! (1967)
Try It (1967)
Bump (2013)

The Standells: Dirty Water
Label: Sundazed Music: SC 6019
Format: CD, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Rock
Style: Garage Rock, Psychedelic Rock


01. Medication (Minette Alton, Ben DiTosti) – 2:27
02. Little Sally Tease (Jim Valley) – 2:35
03. There's a Storm Coming (Ed Cobb) – 2:43
04. 19th Nervous Breakdown (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) – 3:55
05. Dirty Water (Ed Cobb) – 2:48
06. Pride and Devotion (Larry Tamblyn) – 2:15
07. Hey Joe, Where You Gonna Go? (Chester Powers)* – 2:10
08. Why Did You Hurt Me? (Dick Dodd, Tony Valentino) – 2:30
09. Rari (Ed Cobb) – 3:18
10. Batman (Neil Hefti) – 3:04
11. It's All in Your Mind (Ed Cobb) – 2:38
12. Love Me (Dick Dodd, Tony Valentino) – 2:45
13. Medication [Instrumental] (Minette Alton, Ben DiTosti) – 2:43
14. Poor Man's Prison (Keith Colley, Knox Henderson) – 2:23
15. Take a Ride – 2:08

A CD version of the album, released in 1994, deletes "Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White" (as it was also included on the band's follow-up album), and adds six more songs.

MP3 @ 320 Size: 103 MB
Flac  Size: 142 MB


For their second Tower album, Why Pick On Me, the Standells received a significant sonic boost with the move to American Recording Company. Legendary engineer Richie Podolor cut the best sounding records of the era; from the Standells, Chocolate Watchband, and Electric Prunes to Steppenwolf and Three Dog Night.

The drum tracks on this album are simply not to be believed, the bass drum sound possibly registering on the Richter scale.

Here the Standells build on their strengths with tough originals from producer Ed Cobb, equally-hard driving outside material ("Black Hearted Woman," "Mainline"), and notably, the emergence of Larry Tamblyn as a songwriter (his "Mr. Nobody" arguably the album's highlight).

The Standells 

Larry Tamblyn - Organ, Guitar, Vocals
Tony Valentino - Guitar, Vocals
Dave Burke - Bass, Vocals
Gary Lane - Bass
Dick Dodd - Drums, Lead Vocals


01. Why Pick On Me (E. Cobb) - 3:75
02. Paint It Black (Jagger, Richards) - 3:76
03. Mi Hai Fatto Innamorare (T.Valentino) - 2:28
04. 1 Hate To Leave You (T.Valentino) - 2:35
05. Black Hearted Woman (Houle) - 3:70
06. Sometimes Good Guys Don't Wear White (E.Cobb) - 3:36
07. The Girl And The Moon (L. Tamblyn) - 2:55
08. Looking At Tomorrow (B.Mann, CWeil) - 2:29
09. Mr. Nobody (L.Tamblyn) - 2:52
10. My Little Red Book (Bacharach, David) - 2:24
11. Mainline (Huntress, Chellis) - 2:07
12. Have You Ever Spent The Night In Jail (E.Cobb) - 2:57
13. Our Candidate (M.Smith) - 2:35
14. Don't Say Nothing At All (instrumental) (Hill, Washington) - 2:27
15. The Boy Who Is Lost (L.Tamblyn) - 2:33

MP3 @ 320 Size: 97.7 MB
Flac  Size: 205 MB

No comments:

Post a Comment