Saturday, December 06, 2014

Lush : Sear 1989

Lush were an English alternative rock band, formed in 1987 and disbanded in 1998. They were one of the first bands to attract the "shoegazing" label. Later, their sound progressed toward Britpop

The band formed in 1987, in London, initially named The Baby Machines, with a line-up of Meriel Barham (vocals), Emma Anderson (guitar, vocals), Miki Berenyi (guitar, vocals), Steve Rippon (bass), and Chris Acland (drums).

Anderson and Berenyi had been schoolfriends, having known each other since the early 1980s. They published the Alphabet Soup fanzine together  and in 1986 Anderson joined The Rover Girls as bassist and Berenyi joined The Bugs also as bass player. Neither band lasted long and in 1987 they joined Barham and Acland in The Baby Machines. Rippon joined shortly thereafter, and the band members decided on a change of name to Lush, making their live debut at the Camden Falcon on 6 March 1988. Barham left the band and later joined Pale Saints. Berenyi then took on lead vocal duties.

Emma Anderson said of the band's beginnings: "We were kind of punk rock in one way. We did think 'Well, if they can do it, why the fuck can't we?' Basically, our idea was to have extremely loud guitars with much weaker vocals. And, really, the vocals were weaker due to nervousness – we'd always be going 

'Turn them down! Turn them down!' Miki Berenyi said, "We started by writing crappy riot grrl anthems... which was probably charming in a juvenile way. But there was a very rapid shift from the minute we started to write for records. The music, the lyrics became much more thoughtful and expressive, more important, really. I remember that change beginning when Emma wrote "Thoughtforms," it certainly made me think I needed to get my act together."

In October 1996, tragedy struck the band when drummer Chris Acland committed suicide by hanging himself at his parents' house. After a long period of grieving, the band continued for a time but officially announced that they had split up on 23 February 1998.



1. Baby Talk
2. Thoughtforms
3. Scarlet
4. Bitter
5. Second Sight
6. Etheriel

Format : Vinyl Mini LP
Label : 4AD Records - JAD 911
Made in England


  1. never forget this morning when i woke up and hear "de luxe" from my radio ... pur enchantement ... their debuts are better ... "thoughtforms" yes and "breeze", "white wood", their cover of wire's "outdoor miner" and ... miki space girl ... meow

  2. Drats. Just discovered your blog and i'm too late for this [Lush - 'Sear' mini-LP], the zippyshare link is dead [for RAR]. Could u re-up it? Thanx for this, i have 3 of their albums but not THIS mini-LP. thanx.

    1. @ apollojams : The MP3 link is working . The Flac link is ready now . You can take it .