Saturday, May 25, 2019

The Dolly Rocker Movement : Our Days Mind the Tyme 2009

The Dolly Rocker Movement were formed in 2002 in Sydney by Ricky Drabsch on bass guitar, Daniel Poulter on lead vocals and guitar, Christopher Rudge on drums and Martin Walters on keyboards.

The group has played with such acts as The Black Keys, Lime Spiders, The Stems and The Lovetones. The band has had material showcased outside of Australia on various releases, including Northern Star Records' three Psychedelica compilations, and the Greek "Peace Frog" and "Lost in Tyme zines".

In 2009 Denmark-based label Bad Afro announced it would release their third album, Our Days Mind the Tyme, in all non-Australian territories.

BMA Magazine's Cat Woods described Our Days Mind the Tyme as, "a flawlessly produced invitation to psychedelic '60s revival. 

Sunshine, electric pop, garage pop." She found the group difficult to categorise, "Just when I think I've pinned down their sound, they go on a wild trip into other eras, other lands, and the only thing that I'm assured of is that it will be awesomely fun."

In late 2009 Poulter travelled to Los Angeles to start demo recording new solo and band material with producer Rob Campanella.

There, the band was reformed to include Poulter, Jimmy Sweet (formerly bassist of Hot Hot Heat), Emily Stoia (keyboards), and T.J. McDonnell (drums). The band disbanded in 2013.

Poulter, named as Daniel Darling, led Kill City Creeps and by April 2015 was renamed Danatalia "Natalie" de Silver and fronted "The Dandelions", a four-piece band, "who weave retro nostalgia with swirling, driving psych rock and pop."


    2006 - Electric Sunshine (LP)
    2006 - A Purple Journey Through the Mod Machine (LP)
    2009 - A Sound for Two (EP)
    2009 - Our Brave New World/Mystery Man (7-inch single)
    2009 - Our Days Mind the Tyme (LP)
    2013 - Your Side of Town (single)


01. The Only One     4:50
02. Sold For Sinners     2:29
03. A Sound For Two     3:15
04. Coffin Love     3:16
05. My Heavenly Way     2:56
06. Borne With Gills     2:58
07. Enjoy A Paranoia     5:35
08. Memory Layne     3:43
09. Our Brave New World  2:45
10. The Ecstacy Once Told  5:03

No comments:

Post a Comment