Monday, October 28, 2013

Wishbone Ash : Live Dates 1973

Wishbone Ash are a British rock band who achieved success in the early and mid-1970s.
They are considered to be one of the major innovators of the harmony twin lead guitar format. During the early- and mid-'70s, Wishbone Ash were among England's most popular hard rock acts.

The group's roots dated to the summer of 1966, when drummer Steve Upton formed a band called Empty Vessels with bassist/vocalist Martin Turner and guitarist Glen Turner.

Wishbone Ash were formed in October 1969 by bass guitarist Martin Turner and drummer Steve Upton. When Tanglewood's original guitarist, Martin's brother Glenn Turner left the trio and returned to his native Devon, their manager, Miles Copeland III advertised for a guitar player and also for a keyboard player. 

After an extensive search for a guitarist, the band could not decide between the final two candidates, Andy Powell and Ted Turner (no relation to Martin). It was suggested that they try both guitar players "just to see what it sounds like".

The band's eponymous debut album, Wishbone Ash, was released in December 1970. One year later, the group released Pilgrimage. The band peaked commercially in 1972 with Argus, their highest placed entry in the UK Albums Chart (#3).

The album was voted by the readers of Sounds as the "best rock album of the year", also "Top British Album" (Melody Maker). The band were getting international acclaim for their live performances as they gained popularity around the world.


The album was recorded in June 1973 at Croydon Fairfield Halls, Reading University, Newcastle City Hall, and Portsmouth Guildhall. The version of "Phoenix" on disc one was recorded in Memphis, Tennessee in 1972, and was also included on the Live from Memphis album. However, the MCA double-album set (MCA2-8006) also issued in June 1973, contains only the seventeen minute, thirteen second version. It follows "Lady Whiskey" on side four.


Side A

A1         The King Will Come     7:50    
A2         Warrior     5:50    
A3         Throw Down The Sword     6:00

Side B

B1         Rock 'N Roll Widow     6:08    
B2         Ballad Of The Beacon     5:02    
B3         Baby What Do You Want Me To Do     6:33

Side C
C1         The Pilgrim     9:15    
C2         Blowin Free     3:28    
C3         Jail Bait     4:39

Side D
D1         Lady Whiskey     6:15    
D2         Phoenix  16:48

Format : Vinyl Double LP
Label : MCA Records MCSP 254
Made i n : Grait Bitain
Year : 1973


  1. Μπανταρα Τι Να Λεμε Τωρα .....

    1. @ Hammer Dani : Τι να λέμε ? Οχι ! Παίζουμε !!! Κι αυτό το Live είναι εκπληκτικό !

  2. Και Τα Live Και Οι Δισκοι Τους Ειναι Το Κατι Αλλο Ολοι Το Ξερουμε Αυτο...:))

  3. ΚΩΣΤΑΣ ΑΛΙΚΗ ΛΕΥΤΕΡΗΣ ΙΣΜΗΝΗ ΠΕΡΣΑOctober 31, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    Μπράβο ρε Κώστα ΔΙΣΚΑΡΑ και το τσίμπησα ήδη !!!!

  4. The Wav record 1 don't exist!

    1. The problem is with the record 2 now...

    2. Thanks a lot! I love this site!

    3. @ anonymous : Your wellcome .