Tuesday, August 05, 2014

10 CC : How dare You 1976

Deriving their name from the metric total of semen ejaculated by the average male,the tongue-in-cheek British art-pop band 10cc comprised an all-star roster of Manchester-based musicians : vocalist/guitarist Graham Gouldman was a former member of the Mockingbirds and the author of hits for the Yardbirds,the Hollies,Herman's Hermits and Jeff Beck, Singer/guitarist Eric Stewart was an alum of Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders,and vocalists/multi-instrumentalists Kevin Godley and Lol Creme were both highly regarded studio players . 

Formed in 1970 , 10cc began as a session unit dubbed Hotlegs , after establishing residence at Stewart's Strawberry Studios , Hotlegs scored a surprise U.K . smash with the single "Neanderthal Man," subsequently issuing an LP , Thinks,School Times and touring with the Moody Blues.

After scoring their commercial breakthrough with "I'm Not in Love" from 1975's The Original Soundtrack, 10cc continued to build on their good fortune with How Dare You. It didn't spawn another massive hit like "I'm Not in Love," but it is a well-crafted album that shows off 10cc's eccentric humor and pop smarts in equal measure.

This time, the hit singles were "I'm Mandy Fly Me" and "Art for Art's Sake." The first tune is the fanciful tale of a plane crash victim saved from death by the stewardess of his dreams that plays out a poppy mock-exotica musical backdrop while the second is a tongue-in-cheek parody of commercial-minded artists set to a rocking, cowbell-driven beat. 

Elsewhere, How Dare You pursues a similar mix of zany humor and pop hooks: "Iceberg" brings its tale of a frigid romantic partner to life with an incredibly intricate and jazzy vocal melody, and "I Wanna Rule the World" is a witty tale of a dictator-in-training with enough catchy riffs and vocal harmonies for two or three songs. How Dare You loses a bit of steam on its second side when the songs' tempos start to slow down, but "Rock 'N' Roll Lullaby" and "Don't Hang Up" keep the listener involved through a combination of melodic songwriting and typically well-crafted arrangements.

In the end, How Dare You never hits the giddy heights of The Original Soundtrack but it remains a solid album of witty pop songs that will satisfy anyone with a yen for 10cc.


01. How Dare You
02. Lazy Ways
03. I Wanna Rule The World
04. I'm Mandy Fly Me

05. Iceberg
06. Art For Art's Sake
07. Rock'N'Roll Lullaby
08. Head Room
09. Don't Hang Up

Format : Vinyl LP
Label : Mercury
Serial Number : 610 501
Made : In Greece
Year : 1876

No comments:

Post a Comment