Thursday, June 24, 2021

The Sonics: Boom 1966 (Reissue 2016) + Introducing The Sonics 1967 (Reissue 2004)

American rock and roll group, formed 1963 in Tacoma, Washington, counting as the pioneers of “proto-punk” and “garage rock”. They played in several local dance halls and in high schools, until Buck

Ormsby, bass player of The Wailers, discovered them. They recorded two LPs with Ormsby that were released in 1965. They scored some minor hits before disbanding in 1969. Reunited in 2007, still actively performing as of 2015.
They're renowned for their crude and brutal sound, for Gerry Roslie’s lyrics (hinting at drugs, evil women and disturbing mental states) and screams.

Early in 1965 Etiquette released the Sonics' debut LP, "Here Are The Sonics", which was produced at

Audio Recording in Seattle, Washington with famed Pacific Northwest recording engineer Kearney Barton. It was recorded on a two-track tape recorder, with only one microphone to pick up the entire drum kit. It was here that they began to pioneer some of their infamously reckless recording techniques. A second album, "Boom", followed in February 1966. During the recording, the Sonics ripped the soundproofing off the walls at the country and western-oriented Wiley/Griffith studio in Tacoma to "get a live-er sound." The covers of both albums feature the moody photography of Jini Dellaccio.

Their heyday began to come to a close when the band transferred to Jerden Records in late 1966, and headed to Hollywood to record the poorly selling album "Introducing the Sonics" with Larry Levine at

Gold Star Studios. Although it has been rumoured that Jerden executives pushed the Sonics into a more polished sound, the band itself had decided to follow new influences in modern music, resulting in songs that were quite different from their raucously early recordings. The band, however, was not satisfied with the material on "Introducing the Sonics", calling the cleaner, slicker recordings "the worst garbage."

The original band fell apart between 1966 and 1968, with members leaving to attend university or join

other bands; saxophonist Rob Lind became a fighter pilot in the Vietnam War. Eventually, all of the original members left, with new members continuing on with the name Sonics (later 'Jim Brady and the Sonics') until 1980, although it was a completely different band, at times even incorporating string and horn sections.

Original lineup: Gerry Roslie (organ, piano, lead vocals), Rob Lind (saxophone, vocals, harmonica), Larry Parypa (lead guitar, vocals), Andy Parypa (bass guitar), Bob Bennett (drums)
Lineup 2015: Gerry Roslie, Rob Lind, Larry Parypa, Freddie Dennis (bass guitar, lead vocals), Dusty Watson (drums)

BOOM 1966 (REISSUE 2016)


The success of "The Witch" and "Psycho" made the Sonics a major draw in the Northwest, and they were playing some of the biggest and most prestigious venues available to local rock bands of the day

(including the Seattle Coliseum), as well as sharing stages with the Beach Boys and the Shangri-Las. In 1966, the Sonics cut a second LP for Etiquette with Barton, "Boom", which featured several more local hits, including "Cinderella," "Don't Be Afraid of the Dark," and "Shot Down." However, it became evident that the Sonics had gone as far as a local band could go in the Northwest, while they enjoyed only scattered airplay in the rest of the United States.

The Sonics ‎– Boom  1966
Label: Norton Records ‎– CNW 905
Format: CD, Album, Reissue, Repress
Country: US
Released: 2016
Genre: Rock
Style: Garage Rock



01. Cinderella  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:44
02. Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:22
03. Skinny Minnie  (Written-By – Keefer, Haley, Cafra, Gabler)  2:11
04. Let The Good Times Roll  (Written-By – Lee, Goodman)  2:00
05. Don't You Just Know It  (Written-By – Smith, Vincent)  2:49
06. Jenny Jenny  (Written-By – Johnson, Penniman)  2:19
07. He's Waitin'  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:32
08. Louie Louie  (Written-By – R. Berry)  3:00
09. Since I Fell For You  (Written-By – B. Johnson)  3:59
10. Hitch Hike  (Written-By – Paul, Gaye, Stevenson)  2:45
11. It's Alright  (Written-By – Andrews)  2:10
12. Shot Down  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:08
13. The Hustler  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:12
14. The Witch (Alternative Take)  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:39
15. Psycho (Live)  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  1:53
16. The Witch (Live)  (Written-By – G. Roslie)  2:50

MP3 @ 320 Size: 101 MB
Flac  Size: 143 MB



The Sonics signed a deal with Jerden Records, another Northwest label that had a distribution deal with

ABC-Paramount Records, giving the band a better shot at national success. Unfortunately, Jerden head Jerry Dennon sent the Sonics to Los Angeles to record their third album, 1967's Introducing the Sonics, and while producer and engineer Larry Levine had an impressive résumé (including recording many of Phil Spector's classic singles), he couldn't deliver the hard-edged sound Barton had brought to their earlier work, and Introducing the Sonics sounded anemic compared to their Etiquette recordings, despite strong performances by the group.

The Sonics ‎– Introducing The Sonics  1967
Label: Sundazed Music ‎– SC 6198
Format: CD, Album, Mono, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 2004
Genre: Rock
Style: Garage Rock, Rock & Roll



01. The Witch  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)  2:39
02. You Got Your Head On Backwards  (Written-By – Andy Parypa, Gerald W. Roslie, Larry Parypa, Rob Lind)  2:20
03. I'm A Man  (Written-By – Ellas McDaniel)  2:57
04. On The Road Again  (Written-By – John Sebastian)  1:44
05. Psycho  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)2:09
06. Love Lights  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)  2:43
07. I'm Going Home  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie, Larry Parypa)  2:23
08. High Time  (Written-By – Andy Parypa, Gerald W. Roslie)  2:03
09. I'm A Rolling Stone  (Written-By – Andy Parypa, Gerald W. Roslie, Larry Parypa)  2:21
10. Like No Other Man  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)  1:59
11. Maintaining My Cool  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)  1:50

Bonus Tracks

12. Bama Lama Bama Loo  (Written-By – Richard Penniman)  2:38
13. Leave My Kitten Alone  (Written-By – James McDougal, Willie John, Turner Titus)  2:41
14. Dirty Old Man  (Written-By – Gerald W. Roslie)  2:14
15. Diddy Wah Diddy  (Written-By – Andy ChristensenWritten-By [Uncredited] – Ellas McDaniel, Willie Dixon)  2:25

MP3 @ 320 Size: 89.6 MB
Flac  Size: 126 MB

The Sonics - Here are The Sonics on Urban Aspirines HERE


  1. Never can have too much Sonics. Anyone know where one can get/download the recent-ish documentary film about the Sonics? Thanks.

  2. Thanks a lot for the great Sonics in FLAC.

    1. @ Racati:. Your welcome my Rock and Roll friend