Monday, September 21, 2009

Frijid Pink : Frijid Pink 1970

Frijid Pink , formed from members of the Detroit Vibrations , spent their first two years touring throughout the Southeast Michigan/Detroit area . The group eventually signed with Parrot Records in 1969 .
Frijid Pink often shared billing then with the MC5 , The Stooges , The Amboy Dukes and others .

Detroit hard rockers Frijid Pink formed in 1967 , originally comprised of singer Kelly Green , guitarist Gary Ray Thompson , bassist Tom Harris , keyboardist Larry Zelanka and drummer Richard Stevers . After two years of relentless touring throughout the southeast Michigan area , the group substituting Harris for new bassist Thomas Beaudry signed with the Parrot label in 1969 . Although their first two singles , "Tell Me Why" and "Drivin' Blues," failed to attract much attention , their third effort for the company a distorted , guitar-heavy interpretation of "The House of the Rising Sun" reached the Top Ten on the U.S. pop charts , becoming an even bigger hit overseas . Frijid Pink's self-titled debut LP followed in 1970 , as did the follow-up Defrosted . Subsequent singles including "Sing a Song for Freedom" and "Heartbreak Hotel" however , failed to match earlier successes , and after 1972's " Earth Omen " the group did not re-enter the studio until recording 1975's " All Pink Inside " disbanding soon after.

Jason Ankeny , All Music Guide

Frijid Pink is the debut album and it was originally released in early 1970 by London Records' now-defunct Parrot subsidiary label (cat. no. PAS 71033).


1. God Gave Me You (Gary Ray Thompson/Tom Beaudry) - 3:35
2. Crying Shame (Michael Valvano) - 3:11
3. I'm On My Way (Thompson/Beaudry) - 4:34
4. Drivin' Blues (Thompson/Beaudry) - 3:14
5. Tell Me Why (Thompson/Beaudry) - 2:50
6. End Of The Line (Thompson/Beaudry) - 4:07
7. House of the Rising Sun (Traditional, arr. Frijid Pink) - 4:44
8. I Want To Be Your Lover (Thompson/Beaudry/Valvano) - 7:30
9. Boozin' Blues (Thompson/Beaudry) - 6:01
10. Heartbreak Hotel (Axton/Darden/Presley) (bonus track) - 2:49
11. Music For The People (Thompson/Beaudry) (bonus track) - 2:54

Size 108 MB
Bitrate 320

Take it HERE


  1. Thank you very much!!!!

  2. indeed, thank you.. I was dreading having to rip my 42 year old cassettes in order to have this in my music library.. although the cassettes sound surprisingly good for their age.. I was also quite surprised the linx are still working ;-0

  3. Does anyone have Frijid Pink's 1973 B-side "Shady Lady" (Lion 158 with "Big Betty" as the A-side)? Chris

  4. Looking for Frijid Pink's B-side "Shady Lady" from 1973

    1. @ RocDocMac : Sorry I don't have this one .

  5. Replies
    1. Hi Philzy, would you mind sending me an audio file of it? e-mail to ... Thanks in advance.

    2. The link is still working.You can download it and then you can make Audio CD using Nero. Thanx

  6. The Link is still alive and you can find it down in the post , TAKE IT HERE . OK ?