Friday, April 12, 2013

J J Cale : After Midnight ( Best Of )

Cale was born on December 5, 1938, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.
He was raised in Tulsa and graduated from Tulsa Central High School in 1956.

Along with a number of other young Tulsa musicians, Cale moved to Los Angeles in the early 1960s, where he first worked as a studio engineer.

Finding little success as a recording artist, he later returned to Tulsa and was considering giving up the music business until Clapton recorded "After Midnight" in 1970.

His first album, Naturally, established his style, described by Los Angeles Times writer Richard Cromelin as a unique hybrid of blues, folk and jazz, marked by relaxed grooves and Cale's fluid guitar and laconic vocals

His early use of drum machines and his unconventional mixes lend a distinctive and timeless quality to his work and set him apart from the pack of Americana roots-music purists.

With his laid-back rootsy style, J.J. Cale is best known for writing "After Midnight" and "Cocaine," songs that Eric Clapton later made into hits.

But Cale's influence wasn't only through songwriting , his distinctly loping sense of rhythm and shuffling boogie became the blueprint for the adult-oriented roots rock of Clapton and Mark Knopfler, among others.

Cale's refusal to vary the sound of his music over the course of his career caused some critics to label him as a one-trick pony, but he managed to build a dedicated cult following with his sporadically released recordings.

" Plenty of People out there were trying to do Hard Rock .
I thought I'd slide into a slot nobody had covered "


1 Call Me The Breeze     2:35    
2 Devil In Disguise     2:01    
3 Don't Wa    
4 Cajun Moon     2:12    
5 Cocaine     2:48    
6 Magnolia     3:23    
7 Hey Baby     3:11    
8 Mama Don't     3:48    
9 Lies     2:56    
10 I'll Make Love To You Anytime     3:12    
11 Rock And Roll Records     2:07    
12 Money Talks   
13 Don't Cry Sister     2:13    
14 Sensitive Kind     5:09    
15 City Girls     2:49    
16 Crazy Mama     2:22    
17 Midnight In Memphis     4:24    
18 After Midnight     4:24    
19 Carry On     2:18    
20 Thirteen Days     2:49


Money talks, it'll tell you a story
Money talks, says strange things
Money talks very loudly
You'd be surprised the friends
you can buy with small change

They say it's the root of all evil
They say gold is the king

Money talks, you'd better believe it

All that gold don't mean a thing

Rich people, hear those pockets jingle
Spare change, hear the down-and-outers cry

Money talks, tip-toe up behind you
Steal what they can, off the cuff or on the sly
Money talks
Money talks


  1. :) :) :)
    Goodmorning and thanks...Have a nice weekend.

    1. Γειά σου Λεφτι ! Μιά καλημέρα και απο μένα . Το Rock δεν υπάρχει κάπου εκεί Εξω . Υπάρχει μέσα μας και το ζούμε . Οσοι μπορούμε δηλαδή και το παλεύουμε .

  2. καλησπερα!!ξέρω οτι το σχολιο μου ειναι ασχετο με τον δισκο αλλα ψαχνω σαν τρελος το αλμπουμ STEVE WYNN-Dazzling Display..Με συγχωρεις και παλι για το ασχετο σχολιο αλλα ξερω οτι μονο εσυ μπορεις να με βοηθησεις!!ευχαριστω πολυ!!

  3. @ Anonymous : Μόνο εγώ μπορώ να σε βοηθήσω ? Χα ! Χα ! Τέλος πάντων . Ευχαριστώ για την εμπιστοσύνη σου . Δυστυχώς δεν έχω πολύ χρόνο για νέες αναρτήσεις , προσπαθώ να ξαναφτιάξω τα νεκρά Links , μου έχει φύγει ο Πάτος για να Ξανα-ανεβάσω τα Σβησμένα , να ξαναφτιάξω το BLOG απο την αρχή . Το Αλμπουμάκι του Κυρίου " STEVE WYNN " το ανέβασα για πάρτι σου ΕΔΩ
    Είναι σε FLAC αρχείο . Σε εφτιαξα ?

    1. ευχαριστω ΠΑΑΑΑΡΑ ΠΟΛΥ!!!να σαι καλα Κωστη!!!!ηξερα τον σωστο ανθρωπο τελικα!!!επιβεβαιωθηκα!!!Σπυρος απο Ηγουμενιτσα!!!