Wednesday, April 24, 2019

The Yardbirds : Greatest Hits 1986

The Yardbirds - Greatest Hits 1986 (Label: Charly Records – CD CHARLY 8 , France) 1986

The Yardbirds are an English rock band, formed in London in 1963. The band's core lineup featured vocalist and harmonica player Keith Relf, drummer Jim McCarty, rhythm guitarist/bassist Chris Dreja and bassist/producer Paul Samwell-Smith. The band is known for starting the careers of three of rock's most famous guitarists, Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page and Jeff Beck, all of whom ranked in the top five of Rolling Stone magazine's list of 100 greatest guitarists.The band had a string of hits throughout the mid-1960s, including "For Your Love", "Heart Full of Soul", "Shapes of Things" and "Over Under Sideways Down".

A blues-based band noted for their signature "rave-up" instrumental breaks, the Yardbirds broadened their range into pop, pioneering psychedelic rock and early hard rock; and contributed to many electric guitar innovations of the mid-1960s, such as feedback, distortion and "fuzztone".

Following the band's split in 1968, Relf and McCarty formed Renaissance and guitarist Jimmy Page formed what became Led Zeppelin.

The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992. They were included as No. 89 in Rolling Stone's list of the "100 Greatest Artists of All Time", and ranked No. 37 on VH1's 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock.

Original lead guitarist Topham left and was replaced by Eric Clapton in October 1963.The Clapton line-up recorded two singles, the blues "I Wish You Would" and "Good Morning, School Girl", before the band scored its first major hit with the overtly pop "For Your Love", a Beatles-influenced Graham Gouldman composition built around a four-chord progression (Em-G-A-Amin)[15] played on a harpsichord by Brian Auger.

Soon Clapton joined John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers, but not before he recommended Jimmy Page, a prominent young session guitarist, to replace him. Content with his lucrative sessions work, and worried about both his health and the politics of Clapton's departure, Page in turn recommended his friend Jeff Beck.[17] Beck played his first gig with the Yardbirds only two days after Clapton's departure.

The Yardbirds reformed in the 1990s, featuring drummer Jim McCarty and rhythm guitarist/bassist Chris Dreja as the only original members of the band. Dreja left the band in 2012, leaving McCarty as the sole original member of the band present in the lineup.


All tracks were recorded between March 1964 and early 1966. They originally appeared as singles, single-flipsides and on early Yardbird albums.
Track 12: "Stroll On" was released March 1967 as part of the soundtrack album to the Film "Blow Up".


01. For Your Love
02. Putty in Your Hands
03. Got to Hurry
04. I Wish You Would
05. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
06. Evil Hearted You
07. Still I'm Sad
08. Heartful of Soul
09. Jeff's Blues
10. Shapes of Things
11. Steeled Blues
12. Stroll On
13. A Certain Girl
14. I Ain't Got You
15. Train Kept a Rolling
16. I'm a Man


No comments:

Post a Comment