Friday, October 18, 2019

Bo Diddley: His Best 1997

Ellas McDaniel (born Ellas Otha Bates, December 30, 1928 – June 2, 2008), known as Bo Diddley, was an American singer, guitarist, songwriter and music producer who played a key role in the transition from the blues to rock and roll. He influenced many artists, including Buddy Holly, Elvis Presley, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, and the Clash.

His use of African rhythms and a signature beat, a simple five-accent hambone rhythm, is a cornerstone of hip hop, rock, and pop music. In recognition of his achievements, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Rhythm and Blues Foundation and a Grammy Award from the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences.

He is also recognized for his technical innovations, including his distinctive rectangular guitar, with its unique booming, resonant, shimmering tones. In 2017, Diddley was inducted into the Rhythm and Blues Music Hall of Fame.

Diddley's hit singles continued in the 1950s and 1960s: "Pretty Thing" (1956), "Say Man" (1959), and "You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover" (1962). He also released numerous albums, including Bo Diddley Is a Gunslinger and Have Guitar, Will Travel. These bolstered his self-invented legend. Between 1958 and 1963, Checker Records released eleven full-length Bo Diddley albums.

In the 1960s he broke through as a crossover artist with white audiences (appearing at the Alan Freed concerts, for example), but he rarely aimed his compositions at teenagers. The album title Surfing with Bo Diddley derived from his influence on surf guitarists rather than surfing per se.


Chuck Berry Is on Top, with Chuck Berry (Chess, 1959)
Two Great Guitars, with Chuck Berry (Checker, 1964)
Super Blues, with Muddy Waters and Little Walter (Checker, 1967)
The Super Super Blues Band, with Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf (Checker, 1968)


01. Bo Diddley     2:48
02. I'm A Man     3:02
03. You Don't Love Me     2:54
04. Diddley Daddy     2:29
05. Pretty Thing     2:52
06. Bring It To Jerome     2:30
07. I'm Looking For A Woman     2:35
08. Who Do You Love     2:31
09. Hey! Bo Diddley     2:14
10. Mona (a/k/a I Need You Baby)     2:23
11. Before You Accuse Me     3:08
12. Say Man     3:17
13. Dearest Darling     2:54
14. Crackin' Up     2:07
15. Story Of Bo Diddley     2:54
16. Road Runner     2:49
17. Pills     2:52
18. I Can Tell     4:36
19. You Can't Judge A Book By Its Cover     3:16
20. Ooh Baby     3:49

Label: MCA Records ?– CHD-9373, Chess ?– CHD-9373
Series: The Chess 50th Anniversary Collection –
Format: CD, Compilation
Country: US
Genre: Rock, Blues / Soul
Style: Rock & Roll, Rhythm & Blues

1 comment:

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.