Sunday, June 04, 2023

Re-Up: The Deep Freeze Mice 1983: Saw A Ranch Burning Last Night (Reissue 2015 With Extra Tracks)


The Deep Freeze Mice were an English new wave band active between 1979 and 1989. They were

based in Leicester, England, and consisted of the core members Alan Jenkins (guitars and singing), Sherree Lawrence (combo organ and other keyboards) and Mick Bunnage (bass guitar). The band had two different drummers over the years, Graham Summers and Pete Gregory.

The band released ten albums on its own labels, from 1979 to 1983 on Mole Embalming Records and

from 1983 to 1989 on Cordelia Records. Their music was odd, often consisting of absurd and surreal lyrics delivered in Jenkins' deadpan voice, accompanied by bouncy pop/progressive rock music. Favoured lyrical concerns included animal rights, conformity and science fiction.

Alan Jenkins was also a member of The Chrysanthemums in the late 1980's, and joined up with

members of Po! and The Ammonites in Jody & The Creams (later as "Alan Jenkins & The Creams") and Ruth's Refrigerator. He has played guitar with The Thurston Lava Tube since 2001. Ah, the Mice just keep getting better and better, as evidenced on their fourth album that melds Syd Barrett with Cleaners From Venus - reissued with tons of extras and a thick booklet!  



Bass – Michael Bunnage
Drums – Alan Jenkins (tracks: A2, A5, B5 to B7), Graham Summers (tracks: A3, A8, B4)
Drums [Unreal] – Dawn Leader (tracks: A1, A2, A4, A5, B1, B2, B4, B5)
Edited By – David Wells
Engineer – Dawn Leader, Geoffrey Griffith, Richard Willson
Organ, Synthesizer, Piano – Sherree Lawrence
Trumpet – John Grayland
Vocals, Clarinet, Guitar – Alan Jenkins

The Deep Freeze Mice – Saw A Ranch House Burning Last Night
Label: Cordelia Records – CD060
Format: CD, Album, Reissue 2015
Country: UK
Released: 1983   
Genre: Rock
Style: Art Rock, New Wave, Psychedelic Rock



01. Under The Cafe Table    2:59
02. Down To A Proton    2:32
03. The New Emotional Twist    2:12
04. Kiwis Come In Close    2:41
05. You Took The Blue One    2:15
06. You Think I'm A Car    0:54
07. Eat Molten Death    1:02
08. Hitler's Knees    5:40
09. Funny Monsters    4:52
10. Matter Over Mind    2:28
11. The Damage    2:49
12. Ammonia Suction    3:06
13. Everlasting Lollipop    2:04
14. Sagittarians    3:44
15. Saw A Ranch House Burning Last Night    1:38



16. Teenage Head In My Refrigerator    2:54
17. A Ten Legged Beat (Or An Eight Legged Beast With Feelers)    2:51
18. Phylis #2    3:16
19. I Met A Man Who Spoke Like An UCCA Form    4:08
20. Peter Smith Is A Banana    1:58
21. My Geraniums Are Bulletproof    4:09
22. The Gates Of Lunch    0:59
23. A Ten Legged Beat (Or An Eight Legged Beast With Feelers)    1:59
24. Teenage Head In My Refrigerator    3:31
25. God    3:41
26. Ammonia Suction    3:17
27. The New Emotional Twist    4:01

MP3 @ 320 Size: 180 MB
Flac  Size: 535 MB


  1. I don't know The Deep Freeze Mice
    well. I have a cd from them Teenage Head....but can't remember the music at all.
    Thanks for the tip.

    1. This album is the most downloaded in my blog. Really I don't know why. Maybe because their Vinyls are rare.

    2. The cd is also rare and expensive. I found 1 copy from the UK that is cheap in mint. I will order that.

  2. I'm currently listening through the three NUOVA IDEA. Italian melodious prog 1970-73.
    Not a top band, but quite good. Although their third seems their best to me.