Tuesday, November 28, 2023

The Who: A Quick One 1966 + BBC Sessions 2000


One of the major bands of the rock & roll era, the Who straddle the gap separating art-pop and hard-rock, creating kinetic, exploratory music that helped expand the genre's lexicon. Arriving during the

second wave of the British Invasion, the Who came out of the R&B-besotted Mod scene and married that groove to the crunching power chords pioneered by the Kinks. After their debut single "I Can't Explain" cracked the U.K. Top Ten in 1965, the band quickly gained a reputation for their volcanic live performances, which could escalate into Pete Townshend violently shattering his guitar while Keith Moon destroyed his drum kit with glee.

This volatility represented a new, dangerous streak within rock & roll and Townshend channeled this

angst and upheaval into his original songs, starting with the epochal "My Generation," where Roger Daltrey sneered "I hope I die before I get old." Townshend's provocations extended into playing with the form and sound of the pop single during the mid-'60s, an artistic restlessness that led to the groundbreaking conceptual 1967 album The Who Sell Out.


A Quick One is the second studio album by the English rock band the Who, released on 9 December

1966. A version of the album with an altered track listing was released under the name Happy Jack on Decca Records in April 1967 in the United States, where the song "Happy Jack" was a top 40 hit.

Unlike other albums by the Who, where guitarist Pete Townshend was the primary or sole songwriter,

A Quick One features significant songwriting contributions from all band members, with lead vocalist Roger Daltrey contributing one song, bassist John Entwistle and drummer Keith Moon each contributing two. The album also included a cover of the Holland–Dozier–Holland song "Heat Wave" and ends with a musical suite titled "A Quick One, While He's Away", which served as an inspiration for later rock operas that the Who would become known for.

Rolling Stone's Steve Appleford said in 1995 that the album's cheerful pop style has an authentic

quality with trifles like "Cobwebs and Strange" that are reconciled by "absolutely perfect, poignant pop tune[s]" such as "So Sad About Us". The album was later described as "fascinatingly quirky" by the magazine. In Christgau's Record Guide: Rock Albums of the Seventies (1981), Robert Christgau included the album's American version in his "basic record library". Rolling Stone ranked the album number 383 on its list of the 500 greatest albums of all time, published in 2003, and 384 in 2012.

The Who – A Quick One
Label: Polydor – 589 800-2, Polydor – 589800-2
Format: CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo, Disctronics
Country: Europe
Released: Apr 13, 2003
Genre: Rock
Style: Mod, Beat, Classic Rock




01. Run Run Run    2:42
02. Boris The Spider    2:28
03. I Need You    2:24
04. Whiskey Man    2:57
05. Heatwave   1:54

Written-By – Edward Holland Jr./Lamont Dozier/Brian Holland
06. Cobwebs And Strange    2:29
07. Don't Look Away    2:51
08. See My Way   1:52

Written-By – Roger Daltrey
09. So Sad About Us    3:01
10. A Quick One, While He's Away    9:10
11. Batman   1:34

Written-By – Neal Hefti
12. Bucket T   2:07
Written-By – Torrence, Atfield, Christian
13. Barbara Ann   1:59
Written-By – Freddy Fassert
14. Disguises    3:10
15. Doctor, Doctor    2:59
16. I've Been Away    2:07
17. In The City    2:21
18. Happy Jack (Acoustic Version)    2:51
19. Man With The Money   2:45

Written-By – Don Everly, Phil Everly
20. My Generation / Land Of Hope And Glory   2:03
Written-By [Land Of Hope And Glory] – Edward Elgar
Written-By [My Generation] – Pete Townshend

MP3 @ 320 Size: 142 MB
Flac  Size: 392 MB




BBC Sessions by The Who was released 15 February 2000 on Polydor Records internationally and

MCA Records in the U.S. It contains 24 songs and two jingles recorded live at the BBC studios in London. With the exception of the jingles being used to bookend the album, and the third track being misplaced, The Who's recordings are presented in chronological order. Most of the recordings are for the programmes Top Gear or Saturday Club and were recorded between 24 May 1965 and 10 October 1967. Tracks 20-23 were recorded on 14 April 1970 for the Dave Lee Travis Show while tracks 24-25 were recorded on 29 January 1973 for The Old Grey Whistle Test.

This compilation culls eight years of live in-studio performances for the BBC, broken up with

introductions by the smooth and hearty Beeb announcers. The early Who romp through covers with breathtaking confidence -- there's nothing sedulous about the crashing, sugar-free "Good Lovin'." They turn the blues into a stately twist with James Brown's "Just You and Me, Darling" and play "Shakin' All Over" as properly spectral. Encompassing the Who's prime years, The BBC Sessions delineates how the band resolved social and musical anxieties of the age, youthful frustration careening like an

American muscle car on "Disguises," "Substitute," "I'm Free" and a funkified "Relay" (after which Keith Moon must have collapsed); British eccentricity takes a droll promenade with "Happy Jack," "A Quick One (While He's Away)" and John Entwistle's "Boris the Spider." But more than anything, The BBC Sessions highlights how mad, bad and dangerous the Who were in 1965

The Who – BBC Sessions
Label: Polydor – 547 727-2
Format: CD, Album
Country: UK & Europe
Released: 2000
Genre: Rock
Style: Mod, Classic Rock



01. My Generation (Radio 1 Jingle)    0:57
02. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere    2:44
03. Good Lovin'   1:49
Written-By – A.Resnick, R.Clark
04. Just You And Me, Darling   2:01
Written-By – J.Brown
05. Leaving Here   2:34
Written-By – B.Holland/L.Dozier/E.Holland Jnr.
06. My Generation    3:23
07. The Good's Gone    2:59
08. La La La Lies    2:11
09. Substitute    3:30
10. Man With Money   2:31
Written-By – D.Everly, P.Everly
11. Dancing In The Street   2:23
Written-By – I.J.Hunter, M.Gaye, W.M.Stevenson
12. Disguises    2:57
13. I'm A Boy    2:39
14. Run Run Run    3:16
15. Boris The Spider    2:13
16. Happy Jack    2:09
17. See My Way    1:50
18. Pictures Of Lily    2:34
19. A Quick One (While He's Away)    7:01
20. Substitute     2:12
21. The Seeker    3:04
22. I'm Free    2:24
23. Shakin' All Over/Spoonful (Medley)   3:41
Written-By – F.Heath, W.Dixon
24. Relay    4:56
25. Long Live Rock    3:52
26. Boris The Spider (Radio 1 Jingle)    0:10

MP3 @ 320 Size: 180 MB
Flac  Size: 429 MB



01. Pete Townshend Interview - Townhend Talks "Tommy"
02. Pinball Wizard

Written-By – P. Townshend
03. See Me Feel Me
Written-By – P. Townshend
04. I Don't Even Know Myself
Written-By – P. Townshend
05. I Can See For Miles
Written-By – P. Townshend
06. Heaven And Hell
Written-By – J. Entwistle
07. The Seeker (Version 2)
Written-By – P. Townshend
08. Summertime Blues
Written-By – E. Cochran, J. Capehart

MP3 @ 320 Size: 69.4 MB
Flac  Size: 131 MB

The WHO on Urban Aspirines HERE


  1. Replies
    1. A very nice morning in Austria.

    2. For you also in Greece. I hope you have nice weather.

    3. We have a rainy day in Athens today and 12 oC, but after 2 days the weather will change with 20 oC (degrees)

    4. Enviable. Winter has arrived here because of the temperatures. I can't stand it. But it also has advantages.
      You can devote even more time your interests. It would be "fatal" for me, only nice weather. I'm almost constantly outside haha.....

  2. Weather Report [UK] - its only just above freezing here! Bright sunny, but damned cold! (4 degrees and falling) That is the weather report from here in Oxford! ;)

  3. Thank you Kostas for your great work and for your amazing Blog.