Sunday, January 09, 2011

The Byrds Play The Songs Of Bob Dylan : 2002

The Byrds were an American rock band, formed in Los Angeles, California in 1964.
The original five-piece line-up of The Byrds consisted of Jim McGuinn (lead guitar, vocals), Gene Clark (tambourine, vocals), David Crosby (rhythm guitar, vocals), Chris Hillman (bass guitar, vocals), and Michael Clarke (drums).

As the 1960s progressed, the band were also influential in originating psychedelic rock, raga rock, and country rock.

The Byrds Play Dylan is the name of two compilation albums by the American rock band The Byrds, one released in 1979 and the other issued in 2002. As their titles suggest, each compilation consists of interpretations of Bob Dylan penned songs, which The Byrds recorded at different stages of their career. Neither version of the album reached the charts in the United States or the United Kingdom.

The original 1979 release of The Byrds Play Dylan was not, in fact, the first compilation of The Byrds' covers of Dylan's material to have been issued; an earlier, eleven track compilation had appeared in Japan in 1970 under the title The Byrds Sing Dylan.[6] Yet another compilation of The Byrds' interpretations of Dylan's material was released in the UK and Europe as The Byrds Play the Songs of Bob Dylan in 2001.

In June 2002, a second compilation bearing the title The Byrds Play Dylan was released, which expanded considerably on the scope of the original album and included a number of alternate versions and live recordings that had not been released by The Byrds during the 1960s and 1970s.

It also included The Byrds' cover of "Paths of Victory", which had been recorded in 1990 by a reunited line-up of the band featuring original members Roger McGuinn, David Crosby and Chris Hillman. All of the material on the 2002 edition of The Byrds Play Dylan had been previously released, either on The Byrds' regular albums, on their singles, as bonus tracks on their remastered CDs, or on The Byrds box set.

2002 edition Tracks

1. All I Really Want to Do 2:04
2. Chimes of Freedom 3:51
3. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [1965 Version] 3:04
4. Lay Down Your Weary Tune 3:31
5. Lay Lady Lay 3:17
6. Mr. Tambourine Man 2:31
7. My Back Pages 3:08
8. Nothing Was Delivered 3:24
9. Positively 4th Street 3:10
10. Spanish Harlem Incident 1:57
11. The Times They Are a-Changin' 2:18
12. This Wheel's on Fire (Bob Dylan, Rick Danko) 4:44
13. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere 3:08
14. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding) [Live] 3:03
15. Just Like a Woman 3:55
16. Lay Lady Lay [Alternate Version] 3:18
17. The Times They Are a-Changin' [Early Version] 1:54
18. Mr. Tambourine Man [Live] 2:30
19. Chimes of Freedom [Live] 3:24
20. Paths of Victory 3:09

CD Rip
Size : 146 MB
Bitrate : 320
Take it HERE

1 comment: