Friday, December 09, 2022

1981 The Indie Scene - The Story Of British Independent Music



The Connoisseur Collection's ten-volume Indie Scene: The Story of British Independent Music series maps the shift from punk to post-punk and new wave in the U.K. from 1977 to 1986.


Focusing on artists who were on fledgling independent labels and thus digging up plenty of otherwise forgotten chips from the late-'70s/early-'80s fireball, each volume contains plenty enough for voracious neophytes to sink their teeth into.


And if you were a scenester back then and need to relive the glory of all those singles your mom threw out while you were at your umpteenth punk festival, these compilations should plug some gaps.


The Indie Scene 1978 covers enough ground to show how punk began to branch off into a number of rather disparate strains.


Relative expectables like Stiff Little Fingers' "Alternative Ulster," the Undertones' "Teenage Kicks,


" and Buzzcocks' "Ever Fallen in Love" are included, as are welcome contributions from ramshackle court jesters the TV Personalities ("Part Time Punks," "Where's Bill Grundy Now?"), Leeds' Mekons ("Where Were You"), expatriate punks Snatch ("All I Want"), and psychedelic Liverpudlians the Teardrop Explodes ("Sleeping Gas").


Surely this isn't your typical scene-specific roundup that recycles all the typical historical markers.


Just as important, if not more so, is the inclusion of the Normal's sinister "Warm Leatherette," an all-electronic composition from Mute Records founder Daniel Miller.

While many bands of the time set out to destroy rock while using guitars and drums and lyrics that often covered subject matter that wasn't all that removed from the bands they had their gobs of spittle pointed at, it was songs like "Warm Leatherette" that truly extracted the then-younger generation from traditional rock & roll, all the while prophesying the future of pop.

Various – The Indie Scene 81
Label: Connoisseur Collection – IBM CD 81
Series: The Indie Scene – 81
Format:    CD, Compilation
Country: UK
Released: 1992
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, New Wave, Goth Rock, Indie Rock, Punk, Post-Punk, Psychobilly, Synth-pop



01. Department S – Is Vic There?   3:07
02. Pigbag – Papa's Got A Brand New Pigbag   3:40
03. The Higsons – I Don't Want To Live With Monkeys   2:04
04. Hazel O'Connor – D-Days   3:11
05. Toyah – I Want To Be Free   3:09
06. Dave Stewart & Barbara Gaskin – It's My Party   3:48
07. Virna Lindt – Attention Stockholm   3:52
08. Aztec Camera – We Could Send Letters   5:47
09. Young Marble Giants – Click Talk (Testcard EP)   2:43
10. The dB's – Big Brown Eyes   1:59
11. Medium Medium – Hungry So Angry   3:58
12. Southern Death Cult – Fatman   3:45
13. The Birthday Party – Release The Bats   2:31
14. The Cramps – Goo Goo Muck   3:04
15. 999 – Little Red Riding Hood   2:51
16. Au Pairs – Inconvenience   2:57
17. Dead Or Alive – I'm Falling    4:27
18. A Flock Of Seagulls – (It's Not Me) Talking   3:32
19. Wire – Our Swimmer   3:31
20. Clock DVA – 4 Hours   3:53
21. Virgin Prunes – In The Grey Light   4:19
22. Past Seven Days – Rain Dance   6:02

MP3 @ 320 Size: 180 MB
Flac  Size: 498 MB

The Indie Scene 1977 HERE 

The Indie Scene 1978 HERE

The Indie Scene 1979 HERE

The Indie Scene 1980 HERE


  1. Madness Kostas at the moment every day a new entry. Thank you !
    How much work you do. But always
    very pretty and colorfoul and a pleasure to look at.
    Again something i see for the first time. I have one or more cds from half the bands, the other are unknown to me. It's already in the shopping cart and not expensive.

  2. Many thanks for posting this, Kostas.
    Much appreciated!

  3. Wow Thanks Kostas! Appreciated, will post links for folks as per (may take a while but I'm on it!)

  4. μπορείτε να ανεβάσετε και το the indie scene 1985, όπως και το 'Rock '80s' Vol.5,6,7?

  5. Θα μπορούσατε να ανεβάσετε και το The indie scene 1985?

    1. Θα δούμε πως θα πάει γιατί στο 79 και 80 έσβησαν ολόκληρες τις αναρτήσεις και δεν υπάρχουν πια