Sunday, March 19, 2023

Gene Loves Jezebel: Promise 1983 (2 CD Special Edition) + Immigrant 1985 (2 CD Special Edition)


Gene Loves Jezebel are a British rock band formed in the early 1980s by identical twin brothers Jay 

(born John) and Michael Aston. In May 1982, they released Gene Loves Jezebel's demo single, "Shavin' My Neck." The band then added bassist Julianne Regan and drummer Dick Hawkins. Regan left soon after to form All About Eve, leaving Ian Hudson and Michael Aston to alternate on bass until Peter Rizzo joined in 1984. Hawkins also split for a time, replaced by John Murphy and later Steve Goulding, but returned in 1983.

Gene Loves Jezebel released two more singles in 1983 before their debut album, Promise, hit number

one in the U.K.'s indie charts. In 1984, the group recorded a John Peel radio session for the BBC and toured America with John Cale.

After returning to England, Gene Loves Jezebel released the singles "Influenza (Relapse)" and "Shame (Whole Heart Howl)," but then waited a full year before second album Immigrant appeared in

mid-1985. (It's not very surprising that the album was recorded with a lineup change, this time drummer Marcus Gilvear instead of Dick Hawkins.) Immigrant also hit number one on the indie charts, but during a tortured American tour, founding member Hudson left, and was replaced by former Generation X guitarist James Stevenson.

The band's second album, Immigrant, was released in mid-1985. However, at the start of a long American tour for Immigrant, founding member Ian Hudson left and was replaced by former Chelsea

and Generation X guitarist James Stevenson (who later also played rhythm guitar on tour with the Cult). During 1986, the group moved to Situation Two's parent company, Beggar's Banquet Records, and distribution rights in the U.S. were given to Geffen Records. The subsequent promotion increased pop-chart success for the group. The single "Sweetest Thing" briefly hit the top 75 in the U.K., and the album Discover reached number 32 in the UK Albums Chart.

Gene Loves Jezebel's fourth album, The House of Dolls, was released in 1987 and yielded the singles

"20 Killer Hurts" and "The Motion of Love". "The Motion of Love" was the band's biggest UK hit, reaching number 56. The third single from The House of Dolls, "Suspicion", marked the band's first appearance on the US Billboard Hot 100.  

As the result of a rift between the Aston brothers in 1997 and ongoing legal issues, there are currently two incarnations of the band. Jay and Michael each recorded and toured with bands calling themselves

Gene Loves Jezebel; Jay's was based in the U.K., while Michael's largely worked in the United States. Michael Aston's Gene Loves Jezebel was responsible for the albums Love Lies Bleeding (1999), Giving Up the Ghost (2001), Exploding Girls (2003), and Dead Sexy (2009), while Jay Aston's edition of the group issued the discs Accept No Substitutes (2002), The Thornfield Sessions (2003), and The Anthology, Vols. 1-2 (2006).
In 2008, the Aston brothers ended up in a lawsuit over the legal rights to Gene Loves Jezebel before

reaching a settlement that allowed both to use the name in different parts of the world. In 2017, Jay Aston's GLB issued the album Dance Underwater.



Gene Loves Jezebel – Promise
Label: Beggars Banquet – BBL 2011 CDD
Format: 2 CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Special Edition
Country: UK
Released: 2005
Genre: Rock
Style: New Wave, Goth Rock


01. Upstairs    3:19
02. Bruises    3:38
03. Pop Tarantula    3:10
04. Screaming For Emmalene    2:58
05. Scheming    6:26
06. Bread For Heaven    4:10
07. Influenza    3:45
08. Shower Me With Brittle Punches    2:48
09. Wraps And Arms    4:01
10. Psychological Problems    3:45

MP3 @ 320 Size: 94 MB
Flac  Size: 239 MB



01. Shame (Original Version)   3:26
Engineer [Mix] – Louis Austin
02. Influenza (Relapse)   3:46
Engineer – Louis Austin
Recorded By [Additional] – John Brand
03. Stephen (Original Version)   4:49
Engineer – Robin Springall
Written-By – R. Hawkins, S. Marshall
04. Walking In The Park   4:06
Mastered By [Original] – Ray Staff
05. Wraps And Arms (Version Two)    4:02
06. Bruises (Original Extended Version)    4:47
07. Punch Drunk    2:23
08. Brando (Bruises) (Extended Version)    4:57
09. Scheming (Original Version)    3:35
10. Screaming For Emmalene (Single Version)    3:54
11. So Young (Heave Hard Heave Ho)   3:25
Drums – Steve Goulding
12. No Voodoo Dollies    3:00
13. Shaving My Neck   2:54
Bass, Piano, Backing Vocals – Julianne Regan
14. Sun And Insanity   3:38
Bass, Piano, Backing Vocals – Julianne Regan
Written-By – J. Chater, J. Regan
15. Machismo    3:21
16. Glad To Be Alive    5:38

MP3 @ 320 Size: 145 MB
Flac  Size: 302 MB



Gene Loves Jezebel – Immigrant
Label: Beggars Banquet – BBL 2012 CDD
Format:    2 CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Special Edition
Country: UK & US
Released: 2005   
Genre: Rock
Style: New Wave, Goth Rock



01. Always A Flame    4:29
02. Shame    3:49
03. Stephen  (Written-By – R. Hawkins, S. Marshall)    4:43
04. The Immigrant    3:52
05. Cow    4:50
06. Worth Waiting For    3:34
07. The Rhino Plasty    5:07
08. Deep South Wale    4:00
09. Coal Porter    4:32

MP3 @ 320 Size: 93 MB
Flac  Size: 272 MB



01. Desire (Extended Remix)   5:40
Engineer – Alvin Clarke
Producer – Michael Aston
02. Flame (Extended Version)   5:55
Drums – Dick Hawkins
Engineer – Bob Butterworth, Ian Smith    
Producer – Steve Harley
03. The Cow (Extended Version)    4:47
04. One Someone    4:05
05. You Weaken Her (Cow)    3:38
06. Shame (Whole Heart Howl)   3:28
Producer – John Brand
07. Thin Things    4:02
Written-By – R. Hawkins
08. Gorgeous    4:47
Producer – Gene Loves Jezebel
09. Waves (BBC Session)   3:08
Bass [Uncredited] – Steve Radwell
Drums [Uncredited] – Dick Hawkins
Engineer, Producer – Dale Griffin, Mike Robinson
Guitar [Uncredited], Vocals [Uncredited] – Jay Aston
Lead Guitar [Uncredited] – Ian Hudson
Lead Vocals [Uncredited] – Mike Aston
10. Five Below (BBC Session)   3:41
Bass [Uncredited] – Steve Radwell
Drums [Uncredited] – Dick Hawkins
Engineer, Producer – Dale Griffin, Mike Robinson
Guitar [Uncredited], Vocals [Uncredited] – Jay Aston
Lead Guitar [Uncredited] – Ian Hudson
Lead Vocals [Uncredited] – Mike Aston
11. Always A Flame (Alternate Version)   3:54
Engineer [Mix] – Guy Bidmead, Tim Dewey
Piano – J.P. Aston

MP3 @ 320 Size: 110 MB
Flac  Size: 316 MB


  1. Many thanks, awesome band, and underrated imho, the same goes for Flesh For Lulu, another great band that deserves more recognition. Many thanks for share!!

  2. Thanks a lot for this, but Promise CD2 FLAC contains some MP3 files.