Monday, September 25, 2023

British India: Avalanche 2010


British India are an Australian rock band from Melbourne. The band is made up of lead vocalist and

guitarist Declan Melia, guitarist Nic Wilson, bassist Will Drummond and drummer Matt O'Gorman. In 2019, Jack Tosi replaced Nic Wilson as a touring member of the band. They have released six studio albums.

Playing tough, garage-influenced rock & roll with abundant energy and charisma, Declan Melia (guitar,

vocals), Nick Wilson (guitar), Matt O'Gorman (drums), and Will Drummond (bass) were all teenagers when they formed British India. The group's stage presence and powerful live shows made them darlings of the street press while they shuttled back and forth between gigs in Melbourne and Sydney.

Eventually they came to the attention of Harry Vanda, former guitarist with '60s rock icons the

Easybeats. With Vanda, British India recorded an EP called Counter Culture. Released on Shock Records, it was a dry run for the album they would record next with Vanda.

Unable to close a deal with a label they were satisfied with, British India's debut album, 2007's

Guillotine, appeared on Vanda's Flash Point label. Their debut single, "Tie Up My Hands," reached number one on Triple J TV, and the group took home an AIR Award for best new artist in 2007. The follow-up album, 2008's Thieves, debuted at number five on the ARIA charts.

In 2010, after a heavy bout of touring, the band dropped their third long-player, Avalanche. n 2009

British India parted with Flashpoint Music and recorded their third album Avalanche independently throughout 2009. The album was recorded at Sing Sing studios Melbourne and produced by Glenn Goldsmith. Avalanche was released in March 2010 and promoted by the single "Vanilla". The album debuted in the top 10 and sold 20,000 copies. The album was followed by extensive touring and festival appearances.
They took a break to regroup and recharge in 2011 before signing a new record deal with the noted

indie label Liberation Music. In March 2013, British India released their Liberation debut, Controller, their most stylistically eclectic effort to date, which debuted at number ten on the ARIA charts, and included the hit "I Can Make You Love Me" (their first gold record).

The meticulously crafted and critically acclaimed Nothing Touches Me, the band's fifth studio long-

player, followed in 2015, reaching number five on the ARIA charts. In July 2017, the band dropped the single "Precious" in anticipation of full-length Forgetting the Future, which arrived later that September.

British India – Avalanche
Label: Shock  – BID002
Format:    CD, Album
Country: Australia
Released: Apr 30, 2010
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative,Indie Rock



01. Safari    1:52
02. 90 Ways To Leave Your Lover    3:26
03. Because Of You    4:29
04. Friends    3:27
05. Vanilla    3:58
06. Nowhere Boys    3:24
07. Beneath The Satellite    3:10
08. Messiah    3:33
09. Avalanche    2:50
10. Anti Gravity    3:53



Vocals, Guitar – Declan Melia
Guitar, Vocals, Keyboards – Nic Wilson
Drums [Tech] – Tom Kopacek
Drums, Percussion – Matt O'Gorman
Backing Vocals – Dan Night, Dave Larkin, Garett Costigan
Bass, Vocals – Will Drummond

MP3 @ 320 Size; 80.5 MB
Flac  Size: 246 MB 

British India On Urban Aspirines HERE:

No comments:

Post a Comment