Saturday, December 04, 2021

Syndicate Of Sound: Little Girl: The History of The Syndicate Of Sound 1966 (Remastered 1994)

The line-up formed in 1964, when Don Baskin (October 9, 1946–October 22, 2019; vocalist, guitar)

and Bob Gonzalez (bass guitar), both originally from the outfit Lenny Lee and the Nightmen, united with a local group called the Pharaohs. The resulting band, the Syndicate of Sound, which, along with Baskin and Gonzalez, included John Sharkey (keyboards), Larry Ray (lead guitar), and John Duckworth (drums).

Several other stand-ins performed with the band, most notably Dr. Kelly E. Hejtmancik Sr. (bass guitar)

of Galveston TX during the band's Galveston filming of "Little Girl". In the beginning stages of the band's existence, the group was influenced by R&B music, specifically the early musical styles of The Rolling Stones and The Beatles.

After the group won a Bay Area "Battle of the Bands" against 100 other competing bands, the

Syndicate of Sound earned a recording contract with Del-Fi Records. The band released a single, "Prepare For Love", which received local airplay, but ultimately failed to make an impact. Though the record was unsuccessful, it established the band's sound, combining striking vocal harmonies and innovative psychedelic instrumentals.

Formed in San Jose, CA, in 1964, the Syndicate of Sound were one of the premier garage bands and

forerunners of psychedelic rock, establishing a national following based on one massive 1966 hit, "Little Girl." Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Don Baskin, guitarist/keyboardist John Sharkey, lead guitarist Jim Sawyers, bassist Bob Gonzalez, and drummer John Duckworth, the predecessors to the Syndicate of Sound were groups called the Pharoahs and Lenny Lee & the Knightmen.

After recording an unsuccessful single for the Scarlet label, on January 9, 1966, Syndicate of Sound

recorded "Little Girl" at a studio in San Francisco for Hush Records; it became a regional hit in California after San Jose radio stations latched onto it, attracting the attention of executives at Bell Records in New York, who later asked the group to record an album.

In 1990, Baskin, Gonzalez and Duckworth reformed the band, adding Jim Sawyers on guitar, which

performed occasionally. They recorded another non-charting single in 1995, a cover of a Kinks composition "Who Will be the Next in Line?". In 2005, Larry Ray rejoined the band. In 2006, the Syndicate of Sound was in the first class of inductees into the San Jose Rocks Hall of Fame.

Don Baskin died on October 22, 2019, aged 73.

Syndicate Of Sound – Little Girl: The History of The Syndicate Of Sound
Label: Performance Records – PERF 399-2
Format:    CD, Compilation, Reissue 1994
Country: US
Released: 1966   
Genre: Rock
Style: Garage Rock



Bass, Vocals – Bob Gonzalez, Wayne Paulsen
Design – Murray Brenman
Drums – Carl Scott (5), Dennis Fridkin (tracks: 12), John Duckworth
Keyboards, Guitar, Lead Vocals – John Sharkey
Lead Guitar – Larry Ray (4)
Lead Guitar, Vocals – Jim Sawyers, Steve Jenkins
Leader [Leader Of Group], Lead Vocals, Saxophone, Guitar, Flute – Don Baskin

01. Little Girl
02. Games (Previously Unreleased)
03. Rumors
04. Dream Baby
05. Big Boss Man
06. I'm Alive
07. Mary
08. Get Outta My Life (Previously Unreleased)
09. Keep It Up
10. The Upper Hand
11. You
12. You're Lookin' Fine
13. Change The World
14. Brown Paper Bag
15. Mexico
16. First To Love You
17. Reverb Beat
18. Prepare To Love
19. Tell The World
20. Saturday Night (Previously Unreleased)
21. Way Over There (Previously Unreleased)
22. Memphis Underground (Previously Unreleased)

MP3 @ 320 Size: 139 MB
FLAC  Size: 358 MB

1 comment:

  1. One of the best american garage band! Many thanks for the FLAC link.